The Daily Pennsylvanian is a student-run nonprofit.

Please support us by disabling your ad blocker on our site.

Credit: Lizzy Machielse

Karim El Sewedy, an Engineering and Wharton freshman, won the Class Board presidential election, the Nominations and Elections Committee announced on Wednesday at 3 p.m.

This year’s new student election results were delayed from their planned Sept. 22 release after accusations were raised of violations of the Fair Practice Code, the regulatory document that governs student elections.

At a public hearing on Sept. 24, the NEC found two candidates running for Class Board President guilty of violating the FPC by posting or having someone else post on their behalf campaign material in the official Class of 2020 Facebook page.

The two candidates, Engineering freshman Jack Talley and College freshman Connor Wright, were disqualified and the NEC announced that a reelection for the Class Board presidency would take place. Results for the other races were announced after the hearing, including in the Undergraduate Assembly New Student Representative race, where there was a tie between College freshman Michelle Kim and College freshman Max Grove.

The NEC scheduled a runoff election between the two candidates, but Kim dropped out of the race leaving Grove to win the position.

In the second running of the freshman Class Board presidential election, the remaining candidates were El Sewedy, Wharton freshman Rahul Chopra, Wharton freshman Bradley Smith and College freshman Matthew Schnitzer, who filed the charge against Talley. The NEC had filed the other charge against Wright.

Voting took place from Monday to Wednesday and a total of 821 votes were counted. El Sewedy received 425 votes and the runner-up, Smith, collected 250 votes. Chopra received 90 votes and Schnitzer tallied 56 votes.

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Daily Pennsylvanian.