The Daily Pennsylvanian is a student-run nonprofit.

Please support us by disabling your ad blocker on our site.


The Nominations and Elections Committee is pressing charges against two candidates for allegedly violating the Fair Practices Code. Results for the two races involving these candidates — for Wharton Chair and Vice President of Finance — will not be released until after a hearing Sunday.

NEC did announce Wednesday that College freshman Jonathan Scotto and Wharton freshman Emily Liao will serve as president and executive vice president of Class Board 2022, respectively. The results from the rest of the races were announced as well. 

NEC Vice Chair for Elections and College sophomore Kiley Marron oversaw the election process this year. Marron said while it was a good election cycle, there were some concerns with candidates.

“I think the candidates who ran were great candidates overall,” Marron said. “There weren’t any significant issues but the NEC is pressing charges against two candidates, so we didn’t release results in two of the races.” 

Marron declined to provide any additional information on the allegations.

The last time charges of FPC violations were made was during the fall of 2016 election cycle, when two then-freshmen were accused of campaigning on the Class of 2020 official Facebook page. 

The vote was close Wednesday night with Scotto, also a Daily Pennsylvanian staff member, beating his sole competitor, College freshman Daniel Ruiz de la Concha, by 49 votes. Scotto won 486 out of 923 total votes cast for the presidency. Liao ran against four candidates and earned 245 out of the 893 total votes submitted for the position. Her runner-up, College and Wharton freshman Janice Owusu, fell shortly behind by only 31 votes. 

“It’s all about spreading the love,” said Scotto, whose campaign platform focused on unity, innovation, and service under the slogan “spread the love.”

The nine New Student Representatives in the Undergraduate Assembly were also announced Wednesday. Out of the 17 candidates who vied for the position, Dante Diggs, Thomas Cosentino, Nikhil Gupta, Danny Dontoh, Regan Mizrahi, Mandi Nerenberg, Janice Owusu, Quinn Lawery, and Ozi Amuzie were elected.

All comments eligible for publication in Daily Pennsylvanian, Inc. publications.