The Daily Pennsylvanian is a student-run nonprofit.

Please support us by disabling your ad blocker on our site.

Twelve students accepted nominations for seats on next year's Black Student League Steering Committee last night, and BSL leaders anticipate more will join the race. BSL Elections Committee Chairperson Brandon Fitzgerald said last night that although most of the posts already have more than one candidate, written nominations for all positions will be accepted up until the elections on Thursday. Candidates will deliver speeches at the elections meeting on Thursday. Unopposed candidates must obtain 25 percent of the votes and all others must garner a simple majority, Fitzgerald said. BSL President Buzz Thomas said last night that the group decided last year to have steering committee members' terms begin in December instead of April. Thomas will have served as the group's president for only one semester because of the change. The College senior said that by having terms run concurrently with the calendar rather than the academic year, the BSL will have a smoother adjustment period when the new leaders take over their positions. College junior Jessica Dixon is currently the only student bidding for the group's presidency. Vice presidential candidates are Wharton sophomore Mesoin Williams and Wharton junior Nicole Bell, who is currently the group's United Minorities Council representative. Running for treasurer are Wharton sophomore Monee Kidd and College junior Anthia Christian, who is this year's representative to the Student Activities Council for the organization. Candidates for next year's UMC representative are College junior Chip Gross and College freshman Juanita Irving. College sophomore Sjekienna McCreary is currently running unopposed for the position of SAC representative. Corresponding Secretary candidates are College junior Kia Clements and Wharton sophomore Martin Dias, who serves as this year's freshman representative. College freshman Kaplan Mobray is vying for the post of freshman representative. Wharton freshman Alicia Lewis is currently the only candidate for next year's parliamentarian. There are no candidates for recording secretary. Paid members of the group are eligible to vote in the elections, which will be held Thursday at 6:45 p.m. in DuBois House's Multi-Purpose Room.

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Daily Pennsylvanian.