The Daily Pennsylvanian is a student-run nonprofit.

Please support us by disabling your ad blocker on our site.

Wharton first year Steven Li was elected Class of 2027 President on Sept. 25 (Photo courtesy of Steven Li).

Penn Student Government announced the results of the Class Board 2027 and Undergraduate Assembly elections on Monday night.

Wharton first year Steven Li won the class president seat with 269 votes — 22 more than runner-up College first year Musab Chummun. College first year Dhivya Sampath was elected as the Class of 2027’s executive vice president, receiving 268 votes, 23 more than the first runner-up, College first year Michael Tepperman. 

Li, who is also a staffer for The Daily Pennsylvanian, said that his election felt “absolutely unreal,” adding that the election process was “brutal” as he recounted sleeping on the Quad steps the night before the campaigning period started to chalk his name on them.

"It was just super nice to meet a lot more people, get my name out there, and have a lot of fun," Li said.

The Class of 2027 elected College first year Mackenzie Hill as vice president of external affairs, College first year Nicholas Kwok as vice president of internal affairs, and Wharton first year Harjasan Singh as vice president of finance.

College first years Isha Mankar and Natasha Kobelsky were elected as the College class chairs, and Wharton first year Griffin Albaugh was elected Wharton class chair. Running unopposed, Engineering first year Shannon Dooley was elected as Engineering class chair, and Nursing first year Endy Huynh was elected Nursing class chair. 

College first years Mackenzie Hill, Musab Chummun, Michael Tepperman, Ben Woods, Moe Mansour, and Lucas Zhu and Wharton first years Meiyi Wang and Nia Matthews were elected to fill the eight new student representative seats on the Undergraduate Assembly. The first runner-up received 193 votes, with the lowest-voted winner receiving 206, according to PSG results. 

Wharton sophomore Andrew Lu was elected as the UA new transfer representative, winning 24 votes — a one-vote victory over the first runner-up. 

Engineering junior and Nominations & Elections Committee Chair Yousef Elyoussef said that voter turnout is gradually returning to pre-COVID levels. According to Elyoussef, around 1,125 students voted in the election this year, compared to 930 last year. He said that the NEC’s goal is to increase the number of voters to half of a class size, given that a class size is typically around 2,500. 

This election period also included two special elections — two seats were up for election for UA College representative, and one seat was open for UA Wharton representative. College sophomore and DP staffer Nicole Muravsky and College sophomore Hita Mohan were elected as College representatives. Wharton sophomore Cindy Zheng won the UA Wharton representative seat, winning five more votes than the runner-up.

Elyoussef said that the NEC aims to prioritize making the elections run as smoothly as possible.

“The most important thing to the NEC is that elections are fair and equitable among everyone that wants to run, as well as that they’re fun and that we provide students with voices and the ability to get on student government to change things they’re really passionate about,” Elyoussef said.