The Daily Pennsylvanian is a student-run nonprofit.

Please support us by disabling your ad blocker on our site.

Opinion-Columns

02/22/22 7:26pm
Columnist Alfredo Praticò argues that the success of Penn’s multi-year, multi-million dollar investment into Lea Elementary hinges on Penn’s new president, Liz Magill.
02/16/22 6:47pm
Columnist Artur Vllahiu cites the work of German philosopher Martin Heidegger, arguing that COVID-19 is an inflection point in our understanding of existence and the lack thereof. 
02/16/22 9:07am
Columnist Tony Zhou argues that Penn should put a stronger emphasis on the recognition of the Lunar New Year to recognize the Asian community at Penn that currently celebrates it.  
02/16/22 8:27am
Columnists Isabella Glassman and Vinay Khosla discuss the importance of cross-class interactions from an upperclassmen and underclassmen’s perspective.
02/15/22 5:29pm
Columnist Lexi Boccuzzi argues that the costs of hookup culture greatly outweigh the benefits, and failing to recognize its faults could cost us our romantic futures.
02/10/22 5:06pm
Columnist Jaden Cloobeck advocates that we let go of the popular mantra “college is the best four years of your life” because it reinforces a counterproductive mindset 
02/08/22 6:37pm
Columnist Vinay Khosla argues that weighty political issues ought to be made more digestible for the public, such as in the Netflix film "Don't Look Up." 
02/03/22 6:24pm
Columnist Yomi Abdi explains how Amy Wax's recent racist remarks highlight the broader issue of racism in academia. 
02/02/22 7:16pm
Columnist Jaden Cloobeck encourages students to openly talk about hazing in order to change the narrative and put an end to hazing on campus. 
01/28/22 6:13pm
Columnist Caroline Magdolen demands that Penn students and administrators recognize that Penn’s current admission practices are not need-blind, and fight for a legal methodology for admissions and financial aid distribution. 
01/26/22 10:11pm
Columnist Varun Saraswathula argues for the benefits of mindfulness practices and taking a step back from the stresses of everyday life. 
01/26/22 9:57pm
Columnist Lexi Boccuzzi argues that college campuses are increasingly suppressing free speech, harming us and our education systems as a consequence.
01/25/22 9:19pm
Columnist Jesse Zhang discusses how the recently viral Wharton tweet reveals some of the shortcomings of Wharton's education system. 
01/20/22 6:31pm
Columnist Kayla Cotter argues that Penn's early move-in protocols were poorly planned and led to chaos among the student body. 
01/19/22 5:25pm
Opinion editor Asaad Manzar defines the mission of the DP's opinion section, and encourages members of the Penn community to engage with the DP. 
01/18/22 6:48pm
Columnist Jaden Cloobeck encourages students to expand their perspectives by engaging in difficult conversations with people of different political beliefs. 
12/13/21 8:09pm
Columnist Jesse Zhang discusses the importance of taking small steps to tackle larger issues in 2022. 
12/09/21 9:49pm
Columnist Jaden Cloobeck discusses how and why we should archive our COVID-19 stories in the Penn Archives. 
12/09/21 5:13pm
Columnist Alex Eapen discusses his positive interactions with departing UPenn President Amy Gutmann. 
12/09/21 4:44pm
Columnist Caroline Magdolen discusses how the Omicron variant will affect our future.