The Daily Pennsylvanian is a student-run nonprofit.

Please support us by disabling your ad blocker on our site.

Opinion

04/10/19 10:26pm
It’s sad to see a campus where people compete to see who can take the worst care of themselves. Have fun this Fling, but try to have fun the week after, too, even if you have a midterm and three GBMs.
04/10/19 7:40pm
BEN CLAAR is a College senior from Scarsdale, N.Y.
04/10/19 2:42pm
At the time of booking, we made a choice that we thought satisfied a lot of our criteria and the interest of Penn students. With the discovery of the allegations against Miguel, we were disappointed to think that we let our peers down, but also found it important to still support all of those involved in the planning of this event.
04/09/19 9:43pm
So, what can a Penn student do to be a better ally and promote autism acceptance? In good news, there’s a lot. 
04/09/19 9:10pm
There are steps that the University could take to both mitigate tax inconsistencies and to better disseminate these facts to students, many of whom do not realize the facts until they are issued an unexpected billing statement that they will have to pay a tax on a significant portion of their grant.
04/09/19 8:41pm
The truth is that housing presents a problem with no good solution.
04/09/19 8:30pm
If students are going to stay up late working regardless of the operating hours, why not open up more spaces for them to use so they can at least be comfortable and at ease?
04/08/19 1:34pm
The first thing you tell someone when you meet them — before inevitably bringing up your major or your hometown — is your name. It holds weight.
04/08/19 1:27pm
I’ll be the first to admit it: even with all its nuances, I love Penn, and I am so glad I chose to come here.
04/07/19 11:46pm
When SPEC pays performers to come to Penn, it is sending a message that these artists are representative of the Penn community’s values. 
04/07/19 8:31pm
The pricing and inadequate availability of Penn’s dining options forces students to either spend their own or more of their families’ money on food, or, for those who can’t afford to do so, to be hungry. 
04/04/19 9:09pm
We’re the ones you learn about in class about inner-city kids struggling with educational inequality. We’re also the ones you claim to be stealing your financial aid. So as great as it is that you’re learning more about us at Penn, it’s even more important that you understand that there are many people who could have been us. 
04/04/19 8:48pm
Penn students don’t just feel disconnected from the UA because they don’t care — they feel disconnected because it’s frustrating to have the issues and concerns facing them discussed for the sake of gaining votes, and then ignored again.
04/04/19 7:12pm
BEN CLAAR is a College senior from Scarsdale, N.Y.
04/03/19 9:14pm
I was fully ready to commit 150% of my time to this title; unfortunately, I found that, although this was a significant part of my Penn experience, it mattered less to others.
04/02/19 5:35pm
Equal opportunities to participate are created when professors leading conversations actively engage women, women actively participate, and men in the classroom recognize that they need to leave room for these women.
04/02/19 11:54am
Throughout the last years, we have seen how not only ambition, but also determination and strategy, can lead to concrete, tangible change for the student body.
04/01/19 5:17pm
For many Philadelphia residents who struggle to get by, Penn is a full view reminder of a system that isn’t designed for them. 
04/01/19 12:14am
So, instead of trying to make the most out of Penn, just try to make it through. That is an accomplishment in itself.
03/31/19 9:06pm
We are humbled and excited to have the opportunity to lead the Undergraduate Assembly next year.