The Daily Pennsylvanian is a student-run nonprofit.

Please support us by disabling your ad blocker on our site.

Opinion

08/07/20 9:44am
Since Penn is a school that focuses heavily on a variety of global experiences, it wouldn’t be surprising if the idle monotony of homebound quarantine reignited some students’ desire to resume traveling.
08/06/20 8:17pm
Penn needs to be honest and transparent with RAGAs, and compensate them commensurate with the invaluable, dangerous work they do. 
08/06/20 7:04pm
Harvested and stored eggs help women outsmart the impending loss of fertility that begins when we reach our mid-thirties.
08/06/20 10:58am
Even in states that are “solidly” red or blue, increased turnout can send a message of what public opinion really is, while abstentions embolden those in power to continue to ignore other voices.
08/05/20 10:32pm
Cohen stands firmly by the position that Penn’s economic impact in Philadelphia and direct investments to certain public schools outweigh paying PILOTs.
08/03/20 2:57pm
Having OCD does not equate to perfectionism, cleanliness, tidiness, or prudence — despite widespread media portrayal and cultural notions.
08/01/20 8:20pm
It shouldn’t be uncommon to know your neighbors, and it shouldn’t be uncommon to extend kindness to everyone in your community. 
07/31/20 9:11am
Asbestos is a silicone mineral widely used as an insulator until it was banned in 1970 for emitting toxic fibers. Half a century later, predominantly Black and Brown public schools are still plagued by the harmful carcinogen. 
07/30/20 4:15pm
Currently, the majority of our seven on-campus sororities have few to no Black members. 
07/27/20 10:54am
The dynamic and unpredictable nature of the virus creates an ever changing set of problems for the University to try and solve.
07/26/20 1:11pm
Seeing my father suffer, cry, and fight the COVID-19 through a window is undoubtedly one of the most shocking memories I will have to carry with me forever.
07/23/20 8:04pm
Peer institutions like Cornell, Emory, and Purdue already made attempts to answer student questions through virtual town halls, giving Penn a blueprint from which to work. 
07/22/20 2:47pm
Don’t take a gap year out of fear or discomfort with the chaotic state of the world. It’s our new normal and will continue to be in the foreseeable future. 
07/21/20 12:00pm
Since incoming college first years are at a key transition stage of their lives, they should highly consider taking a gap semester given their inability to receive a complete college experience under present circumstances.
07/20/20 3:51pm
Currently, Penn students mostly rely on Penn Course Review and word of mouth to make decisions on which classes to take. 
07/20/20 11:22am
Microaggressions are uncomfortable, harmful, and demeaning for students because they ultimately influence a student’s perception of their ability to excel, feel comfortable and be accepted within the Penn community. 
07/19/20 9:41pm
Dr. Lorna Breen’s passing reignited a conversation surrounding well-being among physicians, but struggles with mental health often begin more than a decade before medicine itself.
07/17/20 10:44pm
Poverty is a problem in Philadelphia. Here, one in four residents live below the poverty line, but this reality is not apparent every day on Locust Walk.
07/17/20 9:43am
The crisis in Yemen, already the poorest country in the North African and Middle East regions, can be traced back to 2011.
07/16/20 5:09pm
We will be printing the DP this semester, with 34th Street Magazine as an insert, once a week on Thursdays.