The Daily Pennsylvanian is a student-run nonprofit.

Please support us by disabling your ad blocker on our site.

Penn announced the formation of two ad hoc consultative review committees to advise on the reappointment of the School of Dental Medicine Dean Mark Wolff and School of Veterinary Medicine Dean Andrew M. Hoffman. Credit: Chenyao Liu

Interim President Larry Jameson and Provost John Jackson Jr. announced the formation of consultative review committees to support the reappointment processes for two Penn deans.

The committees will oversee the reappointment processes for School of Dental Medicine Dean Mark Wolff and School of Veterinary Medicine Dean Andrew Hoffman. Per University policy, a committee must be formed to advise the president and provost whenever they are considering reappointing a dean.

The committees will be comprised of a broad range of faculty members, students, and alumni. Wolff's committee is chaired by the School of Social Policy & Practice Dean Sara Bachman, while Hoffman's committee is chaired by School of Nursing Dean Antonia Villarruel. In addition to the committee work, each standing faculty member of the deans' respective schools will be able to provide "confidential advice and views" directly to Jameson and Jackson.

Wolff’s initial tenure as dean is set to conclude on June 30, 2025. Wolff first assumed the role in 2019 after a six-month long global search, replacing former Interim Dean Dana Graves, who served from January 2018 to June 2018.

Prior to his role as dean, Wolff worked at New York University as a professor of cariology and comprehensive care at the New York University College of Dentistry.

Earlier this February, Wolff received the Woods System of Care Distinguished Service Award for his work with Woods Services, a nonprofit organization focused on supporting children with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

Hoffmann — whose initial dean appointment is scheduled to end on June 30, 2025 — first assumed the role in 2018. Before coming to Penn, he was the director of the Regenerative Medicine Laboratory and professor of large animal internal medicine at Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University. He is also a Diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine, former president of the Veterinary Comparative Research Society, and a member of the International Society for Stem Cell Research.