The Daily Pennsylvanian is a student-run nonprofit.

Please support us by disabling your ad blocker on our site.

Opinion

01/22/20 10:25pm
Penn Dining should make meal swipes more useful to students by accepting them in more locations and letting them roll over from semester to semester. 
01/22/20 8:10pm
As hard as failure can be, we need to breathe it in, exhale and let it go.
01/22/20 8:09pm
There are many things I wish I had known upon getting accepted early decision to Penn. Here are a few of the most prominent.
01/22/20 6:44pm
In order to embrace diversity, one should engage more in events organized by cultural groups and try to absorb different values as much as possible.
01/20/20 7:00pm
Instead of passively lamenting Trump’s Penn affiliation, students should use impeachment as an opportunity to fight for policies they believe in. 
01/20/20 6:39pm
Simply stating the flaws is not enough; we must target and pinpoint concrete solutions if we seek any form of progress.
01/20/20 6:27pm
In a world that already caters to wealth, putting one more boundary in the way of less privileged students is not the way to ensure equal access to higher education.
01/20/20 5:38pm
Yes, Soleimani was a terrible individual who deserved what he got, but killing Soleimani has put American troops at greater risk by moving the United States and Iran closer to war, dramatically destabilizing the region, and doing enormous damage to United States-Iranian relations.
01/14/20 11:25pm
By deciding to defund PPI, Penn not only devalued students’ opinions but also deemphasized the importance of public policy research. 
01/14/20 10:30pm
We highlight these attacks on students and faculty to remind us all that these universities are being targeted precisely because they are institutions devoted to critical thinking and the exercise of reason.
01/14/20 9:25pm
Campus groups should learn from Greek life and work to strengthen their internal cultures so they can provide more outlets for finding a community at Penn.
01/14/20 12:05pm
Now, as I take the helm of the organization that gave me a purpose at Penn, I have one request for my team, and for the Penn community at-large: Ask the right questions.
12/10/19 8:35pm
While constant partying can make you happy in the moment, it is not the answer to stress.
12/10/19 7:32pm
Penn should extend the current need-blind application process for students in the United States, Canada, and Mexico to LPS and international applicants. 
12/10/19 5:05pm
SARAH KHAN is a College sophomore from Lynn Haven, Fla.
12/09/19 12:33am
Rather than constantly feeling the need to be surrounded by people, Penn students ought to spend more time alone.
12/09/19 12:09am
Selling courses may seem harmless or like a mutually beneficial business decision. However, Penn students should think twice before they sell a popular course.
12/08/19 11:36pm
It is time to recognize the 40% of Americans who think abortion should be illegal in all or most cases not as villains, but as fellow Americans who have a different opinion.
12/08/19 11:25pm
Penn must pay workers the living wage that they deserve and that is now mandated by the city.
12/05/19 2:49am
It is incumbent upon Penn students to hold the consulting firm accountable and refuse to participate in its recruiting in the future.